A Navodayan’s journey from selling ‘khaini’ at father’s shop to qualifying UPSC exam!

Niranjan remembers the struggles he had to overcome in life to achieve what he has. Belonging to a small village, Pakri Barawan in Nawada district, 100 km south of Patna, Niranjan is not ashamed of his humble background.

“I used to sit at my father’s small shop and sell khaini when he would go out. My father still runs the shop, even as I tell him he doesn’t need to anymore for a monthly earning of Rs 5,000,” says Niranjan. UPSC results

“Coming from a poor background, my father did not have enough money for the education of his children – three sons and a daughter. I successfully took the written test for admission to the Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya in Nawada, for the simple reason that education was free there,” he recollects.

He has done his matriculation from JNV Nawada in 2004, he moved to Science College, Patna, for his intermediate level education in 2006.

“Even to pay the tuition fee of Rs 1,200 for two years was not easy for me. I used to walk 8-10 kms every day for my coaching classes. Later, after one-and-a-half years, I bought a second hand bicycle with Rs 600, which I saved by imparting tuitions to children, while staying with my uncle in Patna to pursue my intermediate studies,” he recalls.

Niranjan went on to compete in IIT-ISM, Dhanbad for mining engineering course. He took an education loan of Rs 4 lakh from bank that he repaid after joining the Coal India Limited as an assistant engineer (mining) in 2011.

Courtesy : Niranjan Kumar from JNV Nawada, Bihar has secured 728th rank in civil services.

Categories: For Navodayans, Inspirational, JNV Alumni, JNV Family, News, Success Story | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

